Share This:

SIU Exec VP Augustin Tellez

MTD Executive Board Member Augustin Tellez is one of 29 people who will serve on the Maritime Transportation System National Advisory Committee (MTSNAC).

Tellez is the executive vice president for the Seafarers International Union. He is joined by three other trade unionists – David Cicalese (ILA), Berit Eriksson (SUP) and Joe Gaperov (ILWU).

U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao announced the new MTSNAC members on April 24. She stated, “This advisory committee will help strengthen and modernize our nation’s maritime capabilities, as we work to improve our waterborne transportation systems and our country’s gateway ports.”

Created in 2010, MTSNAC is composed of leaders from commercial transportation firms, trade associations, state and local public entities, academia and environmental groups, as well as Labor. Members serve a two-year period and may be reappointed for no more than two additional terms.